Why I Support Bradley Manning

Image

 

I support Bradley Manning because he brought us the gospel of truth. Some high government and military officials didn’t want us to see the truth, so now they want him to pay—perhaps with his life.

 

This is wrong on all sorts of different levels but many people a lot brighter than me have pointed out all the possible consequences of this trial. But what is it about who he is and what he did that make people want to support him, even while most Americans don’t know who he is?

 

I can only answer for myself, but I would say that it is the truth. The truth is precious, sometimes cruel, but it is needed to make judgments about moral behavior and decisions that don’t just affect you, and to learn and grow from the education that it gives.

 

Some of us may know things that many other people don’t know. Those other people may know more than us on certain topics. . .But I believe it is inherently admirable to fight for truth and justice. That is why much of human culture is knee deep in heroic characters who do just that. “Truth, justice, and the American way.,” as Superman put it.

 

We are at a crossroads as a nation. We will either have to make decisions about our obvious problems or choose to do nothing—but we will have to face the consequences either way.

 

But to me its an obvious choice because I do not want to live in 1984. I want to live in a country where truth and justice are still noble pursuits, not just words that mean nothing anymore. I want to be treated as I deserve, not as my money or lack thereof can purchase from others.

 

Bradley Manning embodies everything that I stand for and much more. He is a hero, and I can only hope to one day be as admirable as him. He was willing to give up everything for truth and justice. I don’t believe you can be any more heroic than that.

 

That is why I support Bradley Manning.

 Image

One thought on “Why I Support Bradley Manning

Leave a Reply

