Letter to Bradley Manning

Dear PFC. Bradley Manning,

Your honor and your courage has truly inspired me. I became interested in the truth when I was younger; I became semi-serious about the truth when I became a writer; and–now–I am completely serious about the truth today, thanks to you.

You have inspired me to be a journalist. I believe the public has a right to know what’s going on behind closed doors. Journalists are needed to keep a check on government. If we lose journalism, we lose our government. I want to be a real journalist: the kind that tells the truth.

Even if the truth is uncomfortable, we have a right to know. Children deserve a better world then we are leaving them. I hope that someday every man, woman, and child will recognize this. War is always criminal–especially when it involves innocents. We must strive to uphold our values, or we will fall as a species.

I believe that some day you will hold the same kind of renown that will be likened to Martin Luther King Jr., Gandhi, and others who fought against injustice. I believe Barack Obama will be remembered as the person who did nothing as he willfully allowed the government to take away our rights.

I want to wish you all the love in the world. You deserve better then this.

Sincerely,

Kevin Limiti

One thought on “Letter to Bradley Manning

Leave a Reply

