Self-deceit (poem)

DSC_0006

When I make love to the universal clause,
I sometimes forget myself.

When I lose heart and ground to sadness,
I discover that nothing remains the same.

When I deliver a sermon of righteous indignation,
I realize I only have myself to blame.

When I try to forget what I said last night,
I remember the truth that I whispered today.

When I sort through the ground for answers,
I dig up graves of regret.

When I gaze at my ugly features in a mirror,
I reflect my distance toward my beauty.

And then I sigh and think,
I am therefore I drink.

Leave a Reply

