I’d rather not write about war … but I will anyway

DSC_1353

Being nothing more than a twenty something year old living in suburbia with the only immediate goals being to graduate from college and get a job as a journalist on foreign assignments, I’m sometimes left wondering why I even bother. It’s not like war is going anywhere anytime soon. But I still focus on it. I still read the news reports and blog about it and get angry about it. But why? I am living a comfortable (perhaps too comfortable) life. Why should I concern myself with these things?

I am not so optimistic as to say that war will end in our lifetimes. In fact, I believe that war will never end because there are certain cases where there is aggression and people will fight and die for a hose of reasons. But I live in the great United States, a country that is so far-removed from any kind of war violence that a Kardashian farting is a more important news story than a hundred people being blown to smithereens. I was at a protest in support of Gaza last Friday, and there was a young boy with a sign that said ‘Dear USA, Your 9/11 is our 24/7.’ I was struck by how true this was, but I was also quite sad. With the exception of 9/11 and the Boston Marathon bombings, we Americans have been quite fortunate in avoiding death and destruction as seen by Palestinians and others.

DSC_1101

Does this mean that if the United States were subject to more first-hand knowledge of war violence that we would be more sympathetic to the plights of those people in countries torn apart by conflict? I’m not sure, but I would argue that violence only begets more violence. When Osama Bin Laden planned and executed the 9/11 attacks, was he thinking to himself that if he would kill US civilians because the US killed Arabic civilians? Well, he did and United States foreign policy changed as a direct result. But rather than resolving the conflicts, it caused us to act in a knee jerk reaction by bombing and invading Afghanistan and then bombing and invading Iraq. I don’t see how anyone in the middle east could possibly see 9/11 as a good thing; in fact, it may have been the worse thing to ever happen to the middle east ever.

Obviously media and propaganda plays a big role in how Americans view things on a global scale as well, but I would like to transition awkwardly back to the original subject of my blog post: why do I bother writing about war and conflict when I could be doing a lot less depressing things with my time?

I feel that when so many good people are killed for no apparent reason anywhere, it almost makes you feel guilty to be alive. I also believe that the only way for me to truly understand what it means to be in a war is to actually be in one. These two reasons are what motivates me too want to eventually report from a warzone. I know though that it will take years, but its not something that I take lightly. I put some serious thought into this over the course of a year and a half. It’s important enough that I would risk my life for it.

If you think you can talk me out of it, please leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

